IanTheCool's Reviews
Short Reviews of Movies, Board Games, and Other Stuff

My Top Ten Movies of the Decade

I know that most of these picks are fanboy picks, but that’s just the way it goes.  I’m a fanboy.  Sure I don’t have critically acclaimed films making up my list, but I don’t care.  These are the movies I liked the best from the last ten years.

10. Minority Report (2002)

Spielberg really outdid himself with this modern sci-fi classic about a crime unit which uses seers to stop murders before they happen. This is a wonderfully crafted film with some very interesting ideas inside a great chase movie.

9. The Dark Knight (2008)

I know that I see like a fanboy for including this on my list, but my higher choices will make me seem like more of a fanboy, so I’m not bothered by this. Batman Begins was the Batman movie I have always waited for, and The Dark Knight took it up a notch, creating a great atmosphere and wonderful performances along the board.

8. Wall*E (2008)

WallE may be my all-time favourite animated film. I was blown away when I saw this movie. I did not expect to fall in love with these characters and become so engrossed in the story and moral background. But I did. WallE is amazing, through and through.

7. Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon (2000)

Martial arts films have never reached this level of artistic and literary brilliance. This film transcended genres and languages and became one of the most emotionally gripping movies of the last ten years. The cinematography was absolutely beautiful, the story was enrapturing, and the over-all style was just incredible.

6. Children of Men (2006)

Its hard for me to pinpoint what I love about this movie so much. It might be the unyielding vision of the director, the fascinating psychological ideas and questions which arise from this situation, or the intensity of the action throughout. What a brilliant film.

5. The Passion of The Christ (2004)

Mel Gibson set out to make a massive, gripping, emotional religious epic, and he succeeded in every way. The Passion tells the story of Jesus’ last day without holding anything back, bringing the full weight of his suffering and sacrifice to the screen.

4. The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (2002)

The Lord of the Rings trilogy is a major milestone in movie history. The Two Towers, as the middle piece, suffers from certain downfalls that the middle has, yet still succeeds on a very epic and visual level. The Battle of Helm’s Deep is one of the great battle scenes, which the ongoing struggles of the fellowship held us to our seats.

3. Star Wars Episode 3: Revenge of the Sith (2005)

I just can’t justify not having a Star Wars movie on this list. I am too big of a fan for that. Sure I had my problems with the first two prequels, however the third gave me exactly what I hoped for from the final installment of the Star Wars Saga. I was moved visually, cinematically, and emotionally.

2. The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (2003)

The final piece in the Lord of the Rings trilogy saw all of the story lines come together for one great climax. Sure there were parts which bothered me as an avid fan of the books, but the massive scope of the picture and the hard-hitting emotional punches left me awed.

1. The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring (2001)

The Lord of the Rings trilogy came onto the screen late 2001 and conquered the movie-going world. The epic scope and huge vision for these films was apparent to all who saw it. The quality of production was at the highest levels that film can reach, and Tolkien’s story and characters entranced audiences everywhere. Fellowship of the Ring is the best of the trilogy and set a new standard for movie-making which in my opinion has yet to be surpassed since its release.

2 Responses to “My Top Ten Movies of the Decade”

  1. You know, Minority Report is a pretty underrated movie, and it turned up on a lot of critics ten best lists for the decade. I personally liked it a lot. I wonder why it’s not more popular?

  2. Hi, thanks for commenting! Yeah, it is quite underrated. I almost wonder if some people simply believed at the time that both Spielberg and Cruise were past their prime? Obviously they were wrong, but hey, their loss.


Leave a Reply

