Ian's Movie Reviews
Short Reviews of Movies, Board Games, and Other Stuff

My Top 5 Worst Films of 2012

Another year, another slate of both good and bad films.  My best of 2012 list still needs a bit of time.  But seeing as I don’t actively seek out bad movies, this list is ready to go.

5. The Amazing Spider-Man

amazing-spider-man-2012-columbia-pictures-andrew-garfield-61368

It was an unnecessary reboot made worse by the fact that they did almost nothing new with it.  And what they did do simply didn’t work.  Andrew Garfield’s performance as Peter Parker was brutal, the Lizard looked terrible, the action scenes were uninspired, but worst of all it contained none of the thematic depth of the Raimi films.

4. Wanderlust

2404-D012-00350R-jpg_195352

A lame comedy with stupid characters which doesn’t have the guts to go all the way with its jokes.  The main characters played by Paul Rudd and Jennifer Aniston are wildly inconsistent and therefore hard to relate to. And of course, everything is wrapped up in a nice, neat package at the end.  Awful.

3. Underworld: Awakening

underworld-awakening09

I remember seeing the first Underworld a long time ago, but never bothered with the sequels until this one.  But I don’t think that would have made a difference, this was still pretty stupid.  To be honest, its so unmemorable that I forget most of what happened, but I remember it being all blue-tinted flash with no substance.  There is some terrible supporting performances (in fact, I don’t think there’s a decent supporting performance anywhere) and lots of frantic action.

2. This Is 40

This Is 40

Wanna watch two unhappily married people bicker at each other non-stop for over two hours?  Because that’s what you get here.  The sad thing is that they try to pass it off as a comedy.  And not only is it unfunny with excruciatingly annoying characters, but its also long and boring.  The Apatow train seems to be coming of the rails.

1. Lockout

lockout-mv-18

And then there was Lockout.

What a complete mess of a film.  Nitpicking plotholes is one thing, but this entire movie seems to make no rational sense.  Guy Pierce’s motivation is beyond stupid, the idea of the president’s daughter visiting a space facility with almost no protection, and the way the prisoners who escape immediately form a structured hierarchy, simply makes this movie laughable.  not to mention is has possibly the worst action movie I’ve ever seen.  That speeder bike scene looked so terrible I felt dizzy.  And the worst part was that this wasn’t a “so bad its good” movie.  It was just a bad movie.  Beyond bad.  Worst of the year in fact.

19 Responses to “My Top 5 Worst Films of 2012”

  1. So glad to see ‘The Amazing Spider-Man’ on this.

  2. Ouch, that’s pretty brutal. I’m not sure I would call Lockout the worst movie. I would give that award to Tooth Fairy 2, which was just plain unfunny. Or even Dark Shadows, which made a mockery of an old and legendary, if not silly, soap opera. Steps could have been made to make that a good movie, but nothing worked out.

    I respect your choices, though. It’s all about opinions and yours are just as good, and right, as mine. 🙂

  3. I’m right with you on “This is 40”, Ian, but there were a ton of films out there this year worse than Amazing Spidey. LOL

  4. I agree with The Amazing Spider-Man. I thought I wasn’t the only one who didn’t like it.

  5. All I’ve seen is the first two entries…which are both terrible.

  6. I’ve only seen The Amazing Spider Man from this list but I didn’t think it was too bad. I thought it was better then the third of Raimi’s films. Not great but not bad either.

  7. Nice list… But oh my goodness, the speedbike racing scene in Lockout was the best!! I liked Lockout, I think it’s very endearing…

    Hmm… Amazing Spider-man is a tough one… it’s nowhere as good as the Rami Spider-man, but still, I did like it a lot…

  8. Except for Spidey I agree, underworld was terrible 😀

  9. I’m not sure that it’s really productive for those of us who don’t have to see everything to try to make “worst of” lists. These are five movies that range from being “kind of average” to being “kind of bad.” Objectively speaking the worst movie of the year is probably some kind of direct to video Asylum movie or something.

  10. Haven’t seen any of the others but I really liked Amazing Spiderman. I thought it was how the character should look on-screen, Garfield is a great Parker and although The Lizard isn’t the greatest of villains, he was decent enough for an origin story.

  11. Why? He is much more the Spiderman from the comics than Maguire ever was!


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.