Ian's Movie Reviews
Short Reviews of Movies, Board Games, and Other Stuff

Underworld: Awakening

“It’s worse if you try to fight it, trust me. ”

This movie is crack for Vampire junkies. Its rushed, high-paced action pretty much the whole way through, with very little slow spots to catch your breath. This may appeal to many, but I felt like I needed those slow spots to catch up and breath a little. For fans of the Underworld series, you may appreciate the straight up vampire-werewolf fight scenes you get plenty of. For those not too familiar with these movies, like myself, you may be wondering what all the fuss is about.

This fourth installment of the Underworld films sees Kate Beckinsale’s Selene in a world were humans have turned against vampires and werewolves and manages to catch her and hold her in a medical facility for 12 years. But of course she escapes in order to do more jumping out of windows, running really fast, and cutting things open.

The character of Selene is definitely the anchor of this movie. She holds a lot of weight here and actually seems rather out of her league, as most of the supporting cast is really weak. There’s a young vampire who helps her just to make his daddy mad who is in particular an entirely uninteresting character. Stephen Rae also gives an incredibly pathetic performance as the head scientist at the facility.

This movie was made for the action scenes and the action scenes only. We get a very, very quick intro to this world and its recent history without giving any time to actually explore it. Exposition scenes are laughable, especially when the father and son in the vampire coven are constantly whining to each other. The gore and violence is also disturbingly gratuitous.

However, I will admit that I recognize this movie was not made for me. Awakening was made for fans of the Selene vampire saga who already understand the background of the mythology and now want to watch some no-holds-barred vampire vs. werewolf clashing. And that’s exactly what they will get. So for those people, ignore my rating. For everyone else, 4/10.

4 Responses to “Underworld: Awakening”

  1. I agree. There wasn’t much substance in the movie. Kate Beckinsale in incredibly hot, but that only carries a movie so far. I’ve said elsewhere, that the Underworld Series is following the reverse pattern of Star Trek. All the odd numbered movies are pretty good, the even ones are a little lackluster.

    • I’m not very familiar with the franchise to be honest, so I will take your word for it. I saw the first one a long time ago and don’t really remember that much other than the very dark visual style.

  2. I love the franchise and still didn’t really like this installment. major disappointment. good review.

    • I’m sorry to hear that. I wasn’t really sure whether fans would enjoy it, but fans I heard from told me they did, so I was going by there word. I remember seeing the first one quite some time ago, but don’t really remember much apart from the dark, dank look.


Leave a Reply

