IanTheCool's Reviews
Short Reviews of Movies, Board Games, and Other Stuff

Toy Story 3

After 11 years, the legends of computer animation have returned. And what is great is that when we actually revisit these memorable characters, its been 11 years for them as well. Andy is all grown up, which makes for an interesting dilemma for them to build a story around; what will the toys do now?

The minds at Pixar really put together a solid story here and dealt very well with this massive turning point in lives of Woody and Buzz and the other toys. The big action climax is really well done, not too mention very intense. I couldn’t help but wonder if it was too intense for small kids; especially with the dire consequences behind it.  That was a pretty heavy moment; if you’ve seen it, you’ll know what I’m talking about.

There’s some new characters here, but none to get too excited about. The Ken and Barbie moments were funny, but slightly overdone to a point. Its the familiar characters such as Rex and the potato heads that they focus their time on, which is probably what audiences want anyways.

I did feel like the dialogue and gags in this movie didn’t really pop like they did in the first two, and as a result I felt like some of the charm of the other movies was lacking slightly. However, it is still a highly enjoyable movie with a very, very satisfying ending. I think that they found a way to end this movie, and this series, on a perfect note and I can’t think of any way they could have finished any better.
8/10

3 Responses to “Toy Story 3”

  1. hello ianthecool, thank you for visiting my blog and leaving a comment on my toy story3 entry.

    at few times while watching the film, i looked at my 6-year-old son on how he reacts with whatever is shown on screen. and during that specific near-incarceration scene, his eyes were really glued and i guess regardless of our ages, everyone who has seen the movie was really affected. i take everything positively and give my 2-thumbs up for all the people behind toy story 3. 🙂

  2. To tell the truth, I wasn’t expecting much from this movie. The first two were, of course, brilliant, but because it wasn’t written by one of the regular Pixar crew and wasn’t directed by John Lasseter, I didn’t know what to expect.

    I must say I was very pleasantly surprised. It was funny, inoffensive, and slightly heartbreaking. A perfect way to end the saga.

  3. I feel this movie was made for the sentimental fans who watched toy story all the way back in 1995. It was made primarily for the fans, and it pulls on the heartstrings quite well. I liked it a lot, but thats probably because I am such a huge fan of the first two movies.


Leave a Reply

